Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Keeping Ourselves Safe - Year 5

24 October 2017

Keeping ourselves safe programme

Kia ora koutou,

Over the next few weeks we will be teaching the units ‘Knowing what to do” and “Getting Help” in your child’s class. These units are part of the personal safety programmes of Keeping Ourselves Safe connected to our Health curriculum.

The Keeping Ourselves Safe programme enables children and young people to learn and apply a range of safety skills that they can use when interacting with others. Students recognise the differences between healthy and unhealthy relationships, and those who have been or are being abused are encouraged to seek help.

There are three overall aims:
  • To develop and strengthen children’s skills to keep themselves safe with other people;
  • To support and encourage abused children to get help from caring adults;
  • To make teachers and parents/caregivers more aware of the need to keep children safe from abuse by adults or other children.

Y0-3 Knowing what to do. Five focus areas.

Focus area 1: I am unique: Tino taonga koe

For safety reasons students need to know their name, where they live, and the names of the people they live with. When they can verbalise their feelings confidently, they can report times when they feel safe and unsafe.

Focus area 2: My body is my own: Kei a koe to mana tinana

They understand the names of body parts and that no one should touch their genitals unless it is for health reasons. Students consider touch that they like, touch that hurts and touch that is confusing.

Focus area 3: Dealing with unwanted behaviour and touch: Tāu e ahu ai ki te whanonga me te pā kino

Students need to be able to say “no” confidently, move away, and report what has happened. They learn the difference between good secrets and bad secrets and know how to tell.

Focus area 4: Adults who help: Ngā kaiāwhina pakeke

Students learn who they can trust to help them. Together with the people they live with students develop safety rules and strategies to help them keep safe.

Focus area 5: Nikau and Mokomoko game

A board game similar to snakes and ladders that involves questions and answers related to child abuse.
Y4-5 Getting help. Five focus areas

Focus area 1: Confident me

Students learn to verbalise their feelings confidently and practise a decision-making process that will help them to make safe decisions concerning their own safety and the safety of others.

Focus area 2: Safe or unsafe

Students identify potentially unsafe situations in both the real world and the digital environments .

Focus area 3: No excuse for abuse

Students understand what abuse is and know that any abuse is wrong, should be reported, and is not their fault. They learn to identify the tricks, bribes, or secrets often used by abusers.

Focus area 4: Why should I tell?

Students learn to stop inappropriate touch or behaviour, say “no” confidently, move away, and report what has happened.

Focus area 5: What have I learnt?

Students show what they have learnt by producing a presentation

To be successful, the programme needs parent help and support. It is important that you participate as much as possible and talk to your child about what they have been learning. This will help reinforce the messages the school is giving, and help your child to use his or her new skills with confidence.

The class teacher can show you the units and answer any questions regarding the lessons.
If you wish to discuss any part of the units, please contact the class teacher for more information.

Nga mihi nui

Gordie Palmer
Deputy Principal

Whangaparaoa School

No comments:

Post a Comment